NZ Geomechanics News

NZGS Awards Summary

The NZ Geotechnical Society awards a number of prizes and scholarships on a variety of different timeframes. Full details of each of the awards available, along with details of how to apply or how to nominate someone, their frequency of repetition and a list of previous winners is on the website at Please contact Sally Hargraves on the NZGS committee if you have any queries regarding any of the awards listed.

Geomechanics Award 2018

The award is made to the Society member or members producing the adjudged “best” published paper during the three years ending 31 July preceding the date of the Award, in any publication at the discretion of the Management Committee. The winning paper will be that considered to be distinguished in its contribution to the development of geotechnics in New Zealand.

All Society members who are authors of any paper published within the previous three years shall be eligible, provided that at least one author is a member and a member nominates the paper in writing during the year of the award. The award is a sum of money to be determined by the Management Committee for the purchase of books, plus a certificate.
Previous winners were:

  • 2015 Tam Larkin and Chris Van Houtte for their paper entitled “Determination of site period for NZS1170.5:2004” (published by NZ Society for Earthquake Engineering in March 2014)
  • 2008 Misko Cubrinovski for his paper entitled “Pseudo-static analysis of piles subjected to lateral spreading”

Please send any nominations to Sally Hargraves on

Upcoming Dates

Student Poster Award registrations closed on 17th November 2017; Completed posters are due by the end of January 2018. The award will be determined in the following months with the top three posters published in the June issue of Geomechanics News and put on display at at least 2 or 3 local NZGS Branch Meetings.

Rocha medal 2019 Nominations for the 2019 award are currently open and will close on 31 December 2017 (for evaluation in 2018). The award recognises the most meritorious PhD thesis in rock mechanics, with further details on the ISRM website. Nominations should be sent directly to Secretary General (remembering a 10,000 word summary of the thesis needs to be prepared and ISRM membership demonstrated).

YGP Conference 2018 Abstracts due 15 February 2018 (see call for nominations in this issue and online). Awards are available to NZGS members, under the age of 35 years, who submit an abstract for each YGP Conference (NZ/Aus). Judging is via the abstracts submitted and the award is to help fund attendance at the Conference at which the paper is to be presented.

NZ Geomechanics News
Sally Hargraves
NZ Geomechanics News>Issue 94 – December 2017
Society News

Leave a Reply