ANZ Conference

History and aims of the conference

Beginning in 1952, five Australia-New Zealand Conferences on Soil Mechanics and Foundation were held. The Australia-New Zealand Conference on Geomechanics continues the series, with its scope has been extended to include the three main fields of geomechanics; soil mechanics, rock mechanics and engineering geology. The First Australia-New Zealand Conference on Geomechanics was held in Melbourne, 1971, and has since been held every four years. By tradition it is hosted in sequence, two times in Australia by the AGS and once in New Zealand by the NZGS.

Past proceedings and papers for the conferences hosted in New Zealand are available in theĀ Library.